Home > Nerves, Neuroanatomy > Superior Cervical Ganglia

Superior Cervical Ganglia

An article on superior cervical ganglia.

A link to the article: Superior Cervical Ganglia – click here

The superior cervical ganglion is the largest of the cervical ganglia and consists of the fused ganglia of C1 to C4. It is situated at the level of the second and third cervical vertebrae, anterior to the longus capitis muscle and posterior to the internal carotid artery and its carotid sheath. It is connected to the middle cervical ganglion inferiorly by the sympathetic trunk. It gives rise to lateral, medial and anterior branches. The lateral branches of the superior cervival ganglion consist of gray rami communicantes, which pass to the four upper cervical spinal nerves, the inferior vagal ganglion and hypoglossal nerve (XII cranial nerve). The jugular nerve ascends to the base of the skull and divides to join the inferior glossopharyngeal and superior vagal ganglia; other fibers reach the superior jugular bulb and meninges of the posterior cranial fossa.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: